Do You Ever Feel Trapped in an Endless Loop?

Please tell me you’ve seen the 90’s movie Groundhog Day with Bill Murray. His character wakes up every single morning with the exact same song playing on the radio, the same people crossing his path, the same food being served, and every other thing about the day being the same over and over and over and over again. An endless loop of insanity. He can’t even get out by killing himself. He just wakes up again to repeat the day once more. The only way he is able to escape the cycle is to be the best version of himself and make choices that are truly honest to who he really is.

Sometimes I feel like I’m living in my own Groundhog Day.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m definitely not to the point of trying to attempt being run over by a vehicle to escape the trap of perpetual sameness every day. But I often hear the words, “Didn’t we do this yesterday and last week and last month and last year?” creep slowly into my mind. Sometimes it feels like we eat the same food all of the time, read the same books, have the same workout, watch the same movies or shows on Netflix, wash the same clothes, wash the same dishes, and have the same conversations. (Note: When I say “we” I am mostly referring to the fact that I’m at home this summer with 3 small children.)

So what do we do to break the endless cycle of sameness? Do we need a new job? Do we need a new perspective? Do we need to make a drastic change in our lives? Do we need to hang on to these precious fleeting moments because we are told one day we will miss them?

I believe the answer lies in going back to the movie. How can we be the best versions of ourselves today and make the decisions that are truest to who we really are?

Try that on today. Try to be the absolute best version of yourself and make choices based on what you really want out of life. Hopefully tomorrow you’ll wake up with a different song playing on the radio.

Leave a Reply

