Some Days It’s Just Not that Easy

This has been mentioned before, but my husband often travels for work. Usually, he isn’t traveling with the same people every single time. This time he is with new people he hasn’t gone anywhere with before. I’m sure it’s nice to change it up from time to time, but it also must be a little uncomfortable to be in the dinner situation where you wonder if people are going to be ordering shots of tequila, a draft beer, or a water with lemon. (Maybe that’s just me and my mind that wonders these things.)

But it’s funny when he calls me and we discuss these things. He tells me dinner was fine and it didn’t make him uncomfortable to have to sit at the bar due to limited seating in the dining area.

He also told me that after they were finished with dinner, him and the colleagues that were staying at the same hotel as him made a trip to Walmart to pass time and pick up a few essentials. The two other guys that we were with my husband decided that grabbing a 6-pack and splitting it at the hotel seemed like a great way to relax and unwind from a long day of travel and planning their work strategy for the next few days.

My husband and I found this hilarious and unsettling all at the same time.

“Is that how normal people really drink? Two grown men sharing a 6-pack of beer and then drifting off to sleep at a reasonable hour?” I questioned my husband as he recalls walking the water aisle to pick up his 6-pack of sparkling water. (It’s our new thing¬†lately.) We both snickered at this thought and then I proceeded to bring a dose of reality to both of us by saying, “We probably would have grabbed two cases of beer, held it out and asked, ‘Do you think this enough for one night?’ And then called in the next day because we just weren’t feeling good, but really we were dying from the hangover that wouldn’t quit.” (Yes, obviously we have issues.)

In retrospect, I’m reminded how grateful I am that we know people who can be responsible adults and show other people in society how to properly enjoy an adult beverage every now and then. Unfortunately but also thankfully, my hubby and I are not those people. Keep it up responsible people.

Leave a Reply

