Slowly Letting Go

Have you ever lost someone? A friend? A relative? A grandparent? Did you have trouble letting go? If so, you’re definitely not alone. It’s easy to sit around and talk about how amazing a person was in their lifetime, but finding a way to move on when they are no longer here with us is hard.

We are having to say goodbye to someone we love dearly and finding the right words to say to her or anyone else at this moment is very difficult. Even when you’re prepared for these situations to eventually unfold, you still may not know how will you react to the actual situation happening.

Maybe you find yourself stopping and contemplating life more. Maybe you find yourself reminiscing your favorite memories with that person. There is no one specific way to celebrate someone’s life or to grieve the loss of a loved one.

However, the number one thing I know that doesn’t help anyone is to drown your sorrows in booze. Trust me on this one. Circa 2007 when I lost my granddad I decided to drown my feelings in wine, beer, and some very stout liquor that led to decisions embarrassing both me and my family.  Nothing good came from dealing with my emotions this way and I regret not properly grieving his passing sober.

Life is hard, I will never claim that it’s easy. But life is possible to deal with when you surround yourself with support, love, and people you can lean on in the hard times.

 

Leave a Reply

