You Are Not in Control

Can I just get that phrase tattooed on my forehead? That way I can remind myself, my kids, and my husband that I’m not in control nor are they? I’d like to remind myself when I look in the mirror that I’m not in control. Sure, I make the choices and the decisions every day, but the outcome is handed over to my Higher Power.

Why is that so hard for us to handle sometimes though? I mean I REALLY struggle with this some days. Not because I feel like my HP isn’t showing up and doing his thing, but because I want to be in control…of everything. Sometimes I even pretend I’m in control of things I absolutely have no control over and that just makes everyone (myself and others) freaking bonkers!

So today I’m repeating the serenity prayer over and over and over again until I truly convince myself that I’m not in control. (With my background and personality, this could be an all-day ordeal, but I’m committing to it!)

In case you need a refresher, here is the prayer that quenches the thirst we have to feel in control of everything and everyone around us. I hope it gives you peace today.

God grant me the Serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
Courage to change the things I can,
And the Wisdom to know the difference…

Leave a Reply

