8 Years Ago Today

When I was 22 years old, I was pregnant in a college town and surrounded by people who had their lives ahead of them while I thought I had effectively ruined mine. It turns out that our first son saved mine and my husband’s life. We didn’t just wake up one day and decide to be saintly people who never made any mistakes anymore, but we sure didn’t want to continue down the path we had set in motion.

Looking back at how 8 years can change a person, I honestly don’t even recognize the woman I see in pictures from then. She was overweight, trying to figure life out, and totally confused on where she was going to end up. If my time machine worked (maybe it will one day), I’d go back to tell her that everything works out.

We still aren’t perfect by any stretch of the imagination, but we are happy. We are no longer co-dependent parents in a toxic relationship. We are healthy, contributing members to society.  We don’t party like we used to. We are nicer to one another. We are overall pretty decent human beings.

If you would have told me 8 years ago today that everything would be okay, I still wouldn’t have believed you. But here we are today. Everything is okay. It’s more than okay. We aren’t just surviving anymore. We are thriving!

Leave a Reply

