Know When It’s Time to Go to Bed

Yesterday was an amazing, exhausting, and overwhelming day. The baby had woken up at 3:30 am, went back to sleep for an hour or so, then my alarm was going off at 4:45 am. I was busy from 6:30 am-8:00 pm between the kids, my business, and caring for my family. I was go-go-go-go all day.

But after dinner was done and the baby was ready to go to bed, I decided I needed to put myself in bed too. Yes, it was only around 7:30 pm. Yes, I know there was stuff I still really needed to do so I could be ready for today’s tasks. Yes, there were still a mess all over the house. But I didn’t care. I needed something (where I previously would have reached for the wine to help me power through the rest of the evening), so I decided my bed and sleep were exactly what my body craved.

Knowing when to wave the white flag and surrender to the day is still a concept foreign to me, but I’m working on it. I’m learning to know when I’m DONE. I’m able to read the signs my body and my mood are trying to tell me. “Go to bed! I’ll perform better for you tomorrow. I’m done for the day!” is exactly what my body was screaming to me last night.

Know when it’s time to go to bed. Know when your body has had enough. Don’t be embarrassed to wave the white flag. You’re not giving up. You’re giving the day over so you can start fresh again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

