Exhaustion and a Freight Train

I’m not sure how many people out there have kids and can relate, but I’m freaking exhausted today! My toddler was up in the middle of the night with a fever and crying. There was a time between 2:00 am-3:30 am where we both just sat there, wide awake, with me trying to get him to go back to sleep. All that being said, I know I’ll be tired today.

But why when we are exhausted do we almost automatically go down a negative path? Why can’t I be grateful for the hours of sleep I did get? (Lord knows there’s a brand new mother out there getting by on far less sleep than my slightly interrupted 6.5 hours.) Why can’t I embrace the fact that my child is probably just teething while other children in the world are battling far worse scenarios?

Exhaustion, impatience, frustration, and anger can sometimes hit us like a freight train of emotions, but we have to be mentally/emotionally/spiritually prepared for those times. Sure, none of us are perfect and we’re all going to make mistakes (maybe yell at someone we love when we shouldn’t have), but at least equipping ourselves for those situations can help us overcome them more easily.

Try to think of something you’re grateful for when you are about to lose your cool. I know it’s not a default response to these emotions, but I promise with practice and perseverance, you can be more proactive instead of reactive.

Leave a Reply

