What’s Up With That?

I know I’ve discussed this before, but I tend to run the gamut of emotions when it comes to figuring out sobriety, in myself and others. I go from being totally supportive and encouraging to impatient and frustrated within seconds.

Can I get an Easy Button already?

Really, I thought so much of this was supposed to be “figured out” once we decide to be sober. All of our problems will melt away, I told myself. So why do I keep having to remind myself it doesn’t work that way? Why is my mind so childlike sometimes that I have to be reminded how life gets messy?

Maybe it’s a romantic dramatization of everything. We want a Hollywood story that ends with a fairy tale ending and all of the pieces of the puzzle put back together. Well, I hate to burst your bubble, but life doesn’t work that way. We have to work through the messy crap. We have to deal with the emotional strife. We must overcome obstacles.

I know all of that sounds exhausting, but man, it’s so worth it too!

So if you’re struggling today to keep trudging through the muck in the trenches, remind yourself that you can do it! You’re not fighting hard to get a fairy tale ending; you’re fighting for your own life!

One day at a time…

Leave a Reply

