Coffee Can It Cure All

So I have a confession to make…I’m a coffee junkie! I love the stuff! Ever since I stopped drinking, and probably ever since I had 3 kids, I can’t get enough. I believe coffee is one of the 8th wonders of the world. It’s not necessarily because of its rich aroma or the taste bud tingling yumminess it offers, but coffee brings people together.

When I first quit drinking, I can remember being overcome with fear that now I don’t have anywhere to hang out with friends. Sure, if people were still big party people, I probably shouldn’t hang out with them anyway. But I was worried about meeting new people. What in the world do you do when you meet new friends for the first time? I was so used to going to the bar that I was in uncharted waters.

In steps my good friend and companion, coffee. You can always “meet for coffee,” “go grab a cup of coffee,” “catch up over a cup of joe,” or even the “let’s go discuss this over some java.” Coffee has the ability to bring people together. Coffee can put two strangers in a comfortable place to sit and talk to each other. I know when my husband and I are able to go stay in a hotel by ourselves (which rarely ever happens), we enjoy going down to the breakfast bar and chatting over some coffee to jump-start our day.

Maybe you are struggling with trying to reconnect to a friend of a family member who doesn’t see things your way. Maybe you are trying to establish new relationships with friends you’ve made in the non-drinking community. Maybe you are just wanting an outlet to retreat to every once in a while. A coffeehouse can have magical powers on a relationship. A cup of joe can reestablish something once lost. A cup of java can bring you closer to a new friend or acquaintance.

Give coffee a try as a cure all…maybe it’s not your cup of tea, but at least give it a shot!

Leave a Reply

