Praying (Unleashed)

As I’ve stated before, I try to keep any specific religion out of the blog-o-sphere we’ve got going on here.  But prayer is universal.  Prayer is something that impacts my life daily.  Prayer is something that has completely changed my life.  So, in that regard, I had no issue talking about prayer to you if it’s going to help bring you up out of a dark place.

I had no idea what I was doing when I began to pray. I really wasn’t sure what to say. Do I have to talk out loud?  Do I just say the first thing that comes to my mind?  Doesn’t God know everything anyway?  

Yeah, I had no idea what I was doing.

But once I got started, words started flowing out of me like water. I almost felt like it was a flood I’d never be able to stop. I needed to purge my soul of the thoughts/longings/desires of my heart/hurt/pain/burdens and find forgiveness/strength/patience/guidance/level ground/stability. I am happy to say I’ve found all of these things and have lifted my burdens from my shoulders to God’s powerful hands.

But how did I get started from ground zero? I just started. I knew it was what I needed to do. In a cheap journal I picked up at the dollar store, I started writing down all of the things that had been bothering me. I wrote about the things of my past that I had never let go. I wrote down my current problems. I wrote down things I was grateful to have in my life. I prayed about specific people. I kept writing and writing and writing…because it felt so good! I felt like I was finally getting rid of all of the toxic waste living inside of me all of my life.

Once I wrote it all down, I simply said something similar to this, “God, I’m not sure if I’m doing this right, but I can’t handle these things alone anymore. I need help. I need your guidance. I need you in my life. It’s all too much for me to handle alone. Please help me. Amen.”

That may sound like an oversimplified prayer, but it was the honesty of my heart talking. Ever since I prayed that prayer, I’ve been able to keep praying and keep listening for answers to those prayers. I challenge you to pray today and give all of your burdens over to God. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

