Some People Just Don’t Get It

This isn’t meant to be an insult to people that are ignorant to the effects of alcoholism, but it is meant to bring attention to the fact that unless you’ve been directly affected by an alcoholic (or you are one yourself), then you probably don’t get it.

You may not understand why I can’t have just one drink.

You might not believe me when I say, “Wine and beer is just as dangerous for me as the hard stuff. It’s all the same in my mind.”

You may not understand why I decided to stop drinking when technically I wasn’t the one with “the problem.”

You might not believe when I’m talking with friends and family that have known me for years and they say, “Oh yeah! She’s changed a lot…”

We don’t have to share all of our little secrets so everyone else gets it.  The point is, who cares if other people understand your situation or not?  Don’t misunderstand me here. I CARED for a looooonnnnnnggggg time for people to understand me and my situation and where I was coming from. I wanted people to know why I was the way that I was. I wanted people to be on my side. I wanted people to know that I wasn’t a bad person nor was my husband and the way we lived our lives.

But then I woke up one day and realized, “Why do I care so much about what other people think when that alone has the capability to make me extremely unhappy?” From then on, I vowed to worry about my husband’s opinion, my children’s view of me as a parent, and consider the opinions of my closest friends and family. That’s it.

I realized that day I can’t make everyone happy. There will always be someone who doesn’t agree with me or wants to argue with the ways I live my life. But do they directly affect my every day life? If the answer was no, then I accepted their opinions politely and moved on. If the answer was yes, I listened with an open mind and then we found a way to continue to love each other through whatever mess we were dealing with at the time.

Maybe you’re surrounded by people who just don’t get it. If you are, I’m sorry. Please try to find at least one other person to confide in. But if you are surrounded by supportive and loving people, don’t take them for granted. Let them know how much you appreciate their encouragement and love.

Leave a Reply

