When We’re Let Down…

Once again, the ego has a way of trying to bring us down when we should be nothing but grateful. I recently had a really important, exciting experience happen in my life. It wasn’t a once in a lifetime experience, but it was something I had hoped to share with one of my best friends in the world. (There goes those expectations trying to take over once again!)

But she didn’t show up. She said she would be there, but she didn’t show up. Now, to say I was disappointed with the entire event wouldn’t be fair to the other amazing family and friends who did show up and support me. I’m so grateful for the people who have been placed in my life to be there for me, no matter what!  But it still hurts when you think you have this unbreakable bond with a person yet they’re so tormented with their own problems they can’t escape them for just a couple of minutes to catch up.

I pray daily that my friend could dig herself out of the dark place she’s trapped in.  Not so I can selfishly have my friend back in my corner supporting me and the things I’m doing (that’s not even fair to say, really), but because I miss my friend.  It’s as simple as that.  I miss catching up with her. I miss our friendship.

(I need to end this on a higher note.) I am so grateful for the people who encourage me and support me.  I’m also grateful for the friendships that mean so much to me that my ego cares enough to step in and get all wild & crazy.  Embrace all of your friends in life. Even the ones, no…especially the ones who are not always able to support you in the ways you think they should.  We are all just trying our hardest every day anyway.

Leave a Reply

