I’m Not…

Fill in the blank: I’m not _________. I’ll tell you where my mind wanders and you decide if your answers relate to mine. 

I’m not good enough. I’m not smart enough. I’m not an expert. I’m not confident enough. I’m not that good looking. I’m not brave enough. I’m not capable enough to accomplish my dreams.

Do any of those sound familiar? Or am I the only one who battles with self-doubt a time or two, almost daily?

We have these fears, or doubts, inside of us that cripple us from becoming either who we want to become or who we think we should become. For example, today I’m really stepping out of my comfort zone. I’m having a book signing for a book I recently published. I don’t need someone else’s validation that I’m a writer, yet I find myself fearful that someone will point at me and say, “You’re not a writer. You’re not good enough to be here.” I know I’m not Nicholas Sparks or the next Hemingway, but they also had to start somewhere.

The point I’m trying to make is that everyone faces doubt and fear. But what we choose to do with them is completely up to us. Are you going to let your fears cripple you? Are you going to let doubt hold you back from doing the one thing that you can make you sublimely happy? I hope not. I hope you can overcome the “I’m nots” in your life and tell yourself I am enough.

Leave a Reply

