Focus on Today

By stating the phrase focus on today, I’m just making an observation that it is simply another way of stating, “One day at a time.” But I felt I needed a reminder today to not get caught up in the future and its infinite possibilities and opportunities.

I’ve mentioned this before, but I’m a recovering perfectionist and a serial planner. I like it when all of the pieces to my puzzle fit snuggly in their proper places. Well, in case you were wondering, life with 3 small children isn’t all rainbows and unicorns. (Especially when you have boys who like to smear toothpaste all over each other right before we walk out the door, but I digress.)

I’m not saying planning is bad, but I am saying lacking flexibility can be disastrous! If we don’t have the capability to “go with the flow” so to speak, then we are setting ourselves up to be disappointed over and over again.

So make plans. Have dreams. Meet your goals. But when a speed bump comes along in your planned path, don’t let that discourage you. Go around it, go over it, or simply turn around and go back to rest so you can try again tomorrow. Be flexible!

Leave a Reply

