A Bad Night of Sleep

I wish I could sugar coat this, or at least pretend these don’t happen, but every once in a while you’re going to have a bad day. Not just a bad day, but a really crappy one. Maybe you have a bad day every day and your good days are the rarity here.  I don’t know. But I do know that you can try your hardest to not repeat that bad day over and over again.

I’m so exhausted right now. I had a terrible night’s sleep and I feel like I was wrestling an alligator all night! My back hurts from awkward sleeping, my ear was all squished on my pillow when I woke up, and I feel like someone was contorting my body without my permission last night. I tossed and turned all night. But the only way I push past this and make today a better day is to have gratitude.

I can dwell on all of the reasons I had a crappy night of sleep last night, or I can be grateful that I’m alive, that I have a bed to sleep in, that I have a roof over my head, and that I’m not sleeping out in the cold with my children.

I’m not discrediting or ignoring my crummy night of sleep, because it was in fact really bad, but I am not going to dwell on it. So I need to make it a point to stand up and stretch more today. Maybe I’ll need to go to bed earlier tonight. I may even have to move some pillows around on the bed this evening. But I’m alive. I’m healthy. I’m able to stand on my own two feet to get me out of bed. I’m grateful for the ability to turn my crappy night of sleep into a day full of gratitude.

Leave a Reply

