Small Victories

A friend recently reached out in desperation for change. She wants things to change in her life. She wants things to get better. She wants to be happy. All of these are totally normal human behaviors. We all want to feel love, appreciated, happy, and satisfied with our lives.

We have the power to make that happen. We may not have all of the answers to life’s great questions, but we have the power to dig deep within ourselves to make a change. 

I look back at my past and I can pinpoint the exact moment I took my leap of faith. I see myself vividly sitting there with my husband, both of us weeping over the unknown of the future. I was so stubborn and mad and hurt and angry, all at the same time. But then this quiet little voice inside of me said, “It’s going to be okay. Reach out and touch his hand. Everything will all be okay.” 

I felt like I was having an out of body experience because the stubborn/mad woman in me was screaming at the quiet little voice, “Are you crazy?!? No, everything won’t be okay. You need to put your foot down. You need to make sure he knows you were right and he was wrong. You can’t lose this battle.” 

I think it was in that moment I realized I didn’t want to fight anymore. I was done being stubborn and mad and hurt and angry. I wanted to be happy. I reached out my hand and placed it on his and I immediately felt this surge of relief run through both of us. I felt like we were being told again, “Everything is going to be okay.”

Maybe you don’t have your pinpointed life-changing moment yet, and that’s okay. But have faith that one day it will show up. You’ll know what to do when that moment arrives.

Leave a Reply

