Perfection is Unattainable 

I struggled for years with being a perfectionist. Little did I know, that personality trait was covered in fear. Fear of letting others know how seemingly imperfect my life really was then. Fear of not accomplishing everything I said I would do.

I see this trait quite often in friends and acquaintances, and my heart breaks for them. I want to tell them, There is no such thing as a perfect house, a perfect child, a perfect spouse, or even the perfect life. Take a deep breath! You’re doing the best you can!

I wish someone would have spoken that truth to me several years ago when my weakness to “perfection” led me down a scary path. I now know that I was striving for the impossible in my work, my marriage, my children, but most importantly in myself.

I hope you strive today to be the best version of yourself, but please don’t believe you’re falling short of anything perfect in this life. 

Perfection is unattainable…

Leave a Reply

