My Reason

When I sit down to write on here each morning, I go back to “my reason”. I’ve asked myself, Why am I writing this again? Who is really going to benefit from what I have to say? What do I really know anyway?

All of it comes back to the same answers each time: You’re writing this to share with others because that’s the only way to truly heal. Even if you only touch one person with your story, you have accomplished a huge task. You know that keeping emotions and feelings inside of you will destroy your relationships faster than being honest with yourself and other people.

So I’m here to remind you that I’m not an expert. I don’t have any advanced degrees in addiction or counseling. I’m not even a regular at Al-Anon meetings, but I’m here to be honest. I’m here to share. I’m here to heal. And I know since starting this writing, I began to heal in areas I didn’t know I was still struggling. I’m grateful to have realized I need others and I need to tell my story in order to heal fully.

So thank you for listening…

Leave a Reply

