Wednesdays 

I can’t help but think about that camel commercial now…ya know, the “Hump Day!!” camel. It pops into my head anytime I hear the words hump day. (Thanks to the hyper-media world we live in, I hear it every single week.)

This doesn’t really have to do with anything except I feel like I’m no longer looking at weeks as just “making it over the hump…or getting through the week.” Sure, I still live each day one day at a time, but I no longer feel the drudgery of forcing myself to put a smile on my face and pretend everything is okay when I’m completely not okay. I feel like I have made it over my own metaphorical hump in life and I’m on the other side. 

Don’t get me wrong, this doesn’t mean it’s any easier on this side of the hump.  There are still battle wounds, relationship scars, and people judging your every move, but I finally feel free on this side. Yes, the challenges are different. The players are different. But the game is still the same as it has always been. I’m battling myself for my own happiness and contentment.

“Can you be the best version of yourself today?”, is the question I’ve asked myself a lot lately. It helps me focus more on my character qualities more than any one thing I need to do in a day. 

I hope you enjoy your Wednesday, or your Hump Day, or whatever else you want to label today, but remember there is always a hump in life. You’re either on the front end or the back end of it, but I hope whichever side you’re on today you take it one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

