Sober

What does it mean to be sober? Well, I know I can’t speak for everyone and I surely can’t speak for anyone’s experiences but my own. Webster’s dictionary describes Sober as:

  1. 1a:  sparing in the use of food and drink :abstemiousb:  not addicted to intoxicating drinkc:  not drunk

  2. 2:  marked by sedate or gravely or earnestly thoughtful character or demeanor

  3. 3:unhurried, calm

  4. 4:  marked by temperance, moderation, or seriousness <a sober candlelight vigil>

  5. 5:  subdued in tone or color

  6. 6:  showing no excessive or extreme qualities of fancy, emotion, or prejudice

For me, I agree with everything above and I’d add a few little things from my experiences.

Sober means:

  • To try hard every day to make good choices
  • To put others above yourself because selfishness leads down the wrong path
  • To not give into temptation, even when it’s alluring and sounds amazing
  • To remember your WHY; Why am I doing this in the first place?

Maybe you agree, maybe you disagree. Bottom line is that being sober is a daily choice. Not a once in a lifetime statement someone makes and then never thinks about again.

Good luck in your sobriety today.

Leave a Reply

