Making Yourself a Priority

I’m sure there is a gamut of self-help material out in the world that will tell you how to make yourself a priority. Maybe that’s why I’m saying it too because I have read enough self-help material to know I in fact NEED to make my needs a priority in my every day life. Not in the selfish, narcissistic way. But in a healthy, mind/body/soul type of way.

I have found when I put my emotional, physical, mental, and spiritual needs at the top of my to-do list, then the rest of the list seems to take care of itself (of course I’m talking metaphorically). I start running on auto-pilot once I’ve done my morning prayers, worked out, ate a decent breakfast, and wrote down what I need to get accomplished for the day. 

When I don’t do this…well let’s just say I’m not as pleasant to be around (ask my husband and my kids). I now know that these small things I do for myself (that take up a combined total of an hour to an hour and a half every day) I am the best version of myself for everyone in my family. I’m nicer to my husband and my kids. I’m more relaxed when the stressful situations come about (and those situations ALWAYS come about). I’m more intentional about my time with others because I’m not so self-centered on my own needs. It’s funny if you think about it…you have to put yourself first and take care of yourself first to be able to put your most important things as priority in your life. In other words, you can’t take care of everyone else and all of the other things you have to do 100% while you’re struggling to work on 30% productivity mode yourself.

So today, I’m giving you permission to take care of yourself first. Take a few deep breaths, go on a long walk, take a long hot shower, do some meditation, or whatever it is you need to do today for yourself. “But I don’t have time for any of that?” That’s the point!!!! You have to MAKE TIME! You have to set aside those 5 minutes to meditate, those 15 minutes to get up and walk around outside, and those extra 30 minutes of sleep you could really, really use. You have to be intentional. You must be intentional. Take care of yourself…that’s your job above any other responsibility you have in life.

1 thought on “Making Yourself a Priority”

  1. We blogged on the same idea today. I think perhaps holiday related stress makes this time of year even more important for self-care. We can’t keep putting ourselves on the backburner to take care of everyone else. If they’re old enough to go to the bathroom on their own, they can survive brief stretches of time without our attention as we focus on our sanity. Heheheh. Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

