Gratitude 

We have officially entered the holiday season and the time of year when some people tend to focus more on what they don’t have or what they NEED rather than what they already presently have in their lives today. I’m one of those people.

I try my hardest to practice gratitude and to show my kids that I’m grateful every single day for the amazing things I have and the beautiful people in my life, but jealousy and coveting is also really alive in my heart too. Granted, those two aspects have been tamed down a lot over the past few years and I’m not the spoiled little brat I used to be. However, I am human. I’m not perfect and I don’t pretend to be. 

I do want to keep myself in check though when those feelings of “But I want one of those too” or “Why can’t I have one of those? I deserve it!” or “We work so hard all year…we should spend more on ourselves this year.” 

STOP THE MADNESS!!! It’s just STUFF people! (I’m speaking directly to myself at this point, but feel free to follow along in my inner dialogue.) There are people who don’t have anywhere to sleep at night but the cold hard ground and you want to see how much one of those Sleep Number beds are because you deserve it? What about the people who literally have nothing to eat? They are scrounging through dumpsters to hope they can find an edible piece of God knows what and you want to complain that they don’t have any vegan side dishes at the holiday party?? 

Sorry…my little rants happen out of nowhere and I try my hardest to control them. My point is, we have so much to be grateful for this holiday season. Try to find something, no, try to find 3 things every day from now until New Years to say you are Thankful/Grateful for and write them down. Then carry on this habit with you through 2017 and into the future. Fair warning though: it can change your life…For the better!

Leave a Reply

