Clarity (Who REALLY Has It?) 

I felt for a long time I was the only person on the planet drifting through life, not sure of exactly who I wanted to be when I grew up. Then my parents divorced when I was 26 and my entire perspective on the world changed. 

You see, I had this idea in my head that my parents had the perfect marriage; they never fought after all so I assumed they had it all together. Then, one day everything changed. I was devasted and ironically relieved at the exact same time. I was devastated, for obvious reasons, but I was relieved because this meant I wasn’t the only one who didn’t have my shit together!! Woo-Hoo!! No one is perfect!! What an eye opening concept!! 

Thankfully, my parents sorted through their issues and are working on putting a life back together that works for them now as a newlywed couple (this is still awkward sometimes because they were divorced for 3 years, but I’m happy if they’re happy).

But wow…to see them, the 2 most stable people in my life whom I admired so highly, be human and humbled…I was blown away. It’s good to know we don’t have to be perfect, something I struggled with for many years. I believe this strive for perfection was reflected in my weekend binge drinking when I had to cope with how I didn’t lived up to my own expectations of how I should be living my life that week. 

Thankfully I had a dramatic experience like this to jar me from my idealistic view of people, parenting, marriage, and expectations. No one is perfect. We can only strive to be the best version of ourselves every day.

Leave a Reply

