Kids

I was just speaking with a family member of mine about raising kids and the stress that comes along with it. To paraphrase what she said, “I know how stressed you must be with 3 little ones at home. I know when I had 3 little ones, drinking was my coping mechanism.” 

The funny thing is though, while yes it IS definitely stressful at times in this house, for the most part the stress level has been taken down MANY notches since drinking isn’t a factor anymore. 

I took my kids to the park yesterday and sat on a bench behind a group of moms. I wasn’t trying to eavesdrop, but I heard one of the moms say, “…and that’s why I have my 3 glasses of wine every night. There’s just no other way to do it. I’d go crazy!” 

Seeing as how she was at the park with 2 other moms with children who appeared to be under the ages of 7, I’d have to assume she was talking about this whole mom gig. Maybe I’m wrong. But I have learned, for myself, that no amount of wine takes those same problems away the next morning. In fact, in my circumstances, it typically made the situation a lot more stressful.

All I’m saying is there is another way…what way is that, you ask? I don’t know. My way is probably different from your way, but there is another way! I’m not trying to tell anyone how to live there life. (We have enough people trying to do that in this world.) I’m just trying to give someone hope out there who needs it.

So to anyone with small kids at home, take a deep breath. There is hope. 

Leave a Reply

