Serenity

Serenity…I’m not sure if you’re familiar with the Serenity Prayer or not, but it goes like this:

God, Grant me the SERENITY to accept the things I cannot change,

COURAGE to change the things I can,

And WISDOM to know the difference.

(Emphasis mine)

I fully believe in looking at definitions of words, even when I think I understand their meaning. This gives me a fresh perspective on words I’m sure I already know the meaning. Merriam Webster’s definition of the key words in this prayer:

Serenity (Serene) – calm and peaceful

Courage – the ability to do something that you know is difficult or dangerous

Wisdom – knowledge of what is proper or reasonable; good sense or judgment.

My own interpretation of this prayer:

God, give me peace when I can’t control things in my life,

Give me strength for the tough decisions I know I have to make,

And please give me the common sense to know which things I have control over and the things that I don’t. Amen.

I’m not sure if you’re a prayer person or not, but this helps me daily to reevaluate my life. I get upset about something and immediately try to zero in on whether any part of the situation is in my control or not. If it’s not, then I immediately talk to my HP about handing the situation over to Him. I will say, “I can’t do this without You,” and then I feel a little better. The problem usually isn’t resolved instantaneously, but at least I know I have done my part to get it out of my head that I’m in control.

Leave a Reply

