Just Taking a Nap

So I have completely conflicting ideas about naps from what the public opinion may have. I’m not talking about kids and their physical need for sleep or that turkey coma you go into after a Thanksgiving feast.

I’m talking about the I can’t deal with the world today so I’m going to lock myself in my room and sleep until I don’t feel anymore.

I try to have compassion. As someone who has never struggled with depression (at least I don’t think I have), I still have problems wrapping my head around why in the world you can’t just get up and go! 

I thought it was him just being hungover and I would think, “Well, I don’t feel great either, but someone’s got to take care of these kids.” Then it continued into sobriety. There are still times when he slips off to the bedroom and naps for several hours at a time.

This is his coping mechanism and although I’m not always happy with the timing of his naps, he’s sober. He’s working on it. It’s called giving grace. He gets up. He goes to work to provide for his family. He’s an amazing father to our children. He goes to meeting a few times a week. I feel like I hold him to stricter set of expectations than I hold other people and I need to be the one giving more grace and having compassion.

Leave a Reply

